Paradoxes

If everyone on the street here assumes I am Russian…

Then why do they shout “Hello”?

Why don’t they shout  “Привет”?

I was in the grocery store lineup today, beside an adorable moon-faced kid, whose mother told him, “Look, it’s a Russian girl! Say ‘hello’!”

Instead, the kid chose to say “Ayi hao” or “hello, Auntie,” and I fell in love with him immediately. I love it when kids bring me into the family.

One thought on “Paradoxes

  1. If you go to 哈尔滨, you’ll get Привет a lot. I guess Dalian is close enough to Russia that everyone assumes you’re Russian, but not close enough that anyone actually learns to speak any Russian?

Leave a Reply

